Church of San Geremia
The façade of the church.
|Hours of Operation|
|Cost of Admission|
The Chiesa di S. Geremia e Lucia, or San Geremia as it is locally known, was founded in the year 1000 and is a Catholic church.
The Church of San Geremia was founded in the 11th century by a father and son who constructed it to house the arm of St. Bartholomew. The church was rebuilt in the 12th and 13th centuries before becoming the center of a scandal in 1562 when the priest was accused of hearsay and drowned. The present day church was rebuilt in 1753. The façade of the church was completed a century later, replacing one that was damaged by fire. San Geremia is unique in that it has two facades with similar designs. One was damaged again by arson in 1998 and is still being restored.
Structure of Building
The image below depicts the floor plan of San Geremia, including the location of the Church Floor Artifacts.
- ↑ Lorenzetti, Giulio. “Venice and its Lagoon: Historical-Artistic Guide” Edizoni LINT S.R.L. Italy. 1994.
- ↑ Cotton, Jeff. “Churches of Venice” 2012. http://churchesofvenice.co.uk/index.htm