Church of Sant'Elena
The façade of the church.
|Hours of Operation|
|Cost of Admission|
The Chiesa di S. Elena, or Sant'Elena as it is locally known, was founded in the year 1250 and is a Catholic church.
There is some discrepancy as to whether Santa Elena was founded in the 11th or 12th century, but it is known that the body of Saint Helena was brought to Venice in the 13th century and housed in this church. In the 15th century, a monastery for Benedictine monks was constructed next to the church in the 15th century. The church was reconstructed in the 16th century, before being closed by Napoleon in 1807. Following the French's departure, the church was used as barracks, a bakery, and an iron foundry before being restored in 1915. The façade was built in the unique Venetian Gothic style. Other churches in the city with a similar design include the Church of Santa Aponal in San Polo.
Structure of Building
The image below depicts the floor plan of Sant'Elena, including the location of the Church Floor Artifacts.
- ↑ Lorenzetti, Giulio. “Venice and its Lagoon: Historical-Artistic Guide” Edizoni LINT S.R.L. Italy. 1994.
- ↑ Cotton, Jeff. “Churches of Venice” 2012. http://churchesofvenice.co.uk/index.htm